HomeTravelGeneral aspects of HGV Driving

General aspects of HGV Driving

HGVs dominate the transportation business (Heavy Goods Vehicles). It has various licence types connected to a single HGV category (Heavy Goods Vehicles). These licences rely on a number of factors, including the vehicle and other elements like weight, the type of weight being transported, and so forth. Because there is an increasing need for HGV drivers in the transportation sector, there are many questions that people have about HGV Class 1 Training. Heavy Goods Vehicles, or HGVs, are also referred to as LGVs (Large Goods Vehicles).

You can obtain an HGV licence if you wish to operate large, inflexible vehicles that move cargo from one place to another. There are numerous terms and conditions in this regard. Depending on the type of HGV vehicle, you need to be in category C, C+E, C1, or C1+E to drive one. Before working in this industry, you must be at least 18 years old and have a provisional driver’s licence.

Some common types:

    Class C1: To operate vehicles weighing more than 5,000 pounds, you must be at least 18 years old and have a class B licence.

    Class-C1+E requires a class C1 licence and a minimum age of 18.

    Class C requires a class B licence and an age restriction of 18.

    If you have Category CE, you are eligible to operate a truck and pull a trailer with a maximum allowable mass of more than 750 kg under Class C+E.

    Category B+E- Your driving licence will show that you are permitted to operate cars in Category B, which includes cargo trucks with a gross vehicle weight of up to 3.5 tonnes and passenger vehicles with up to 8 seats (Car to People Carriers).

    The Category D minibus licence permits you to transport up to nine passengers.

    Category D1: With the other minibus licence, you may transport up to 16 people.

How to get a HGV Licence?

    Before applying for the CPC, you must first receive your HGV temporary licence.

    You must be at least 18 years old and in possession of a valid driver’s licence in order to apply for one.

    You’ll want a different type of van licence depending on the size and type of vehicle you intend to operate.

    Once you have chosen the sort of licence you need, you must complete the D2 and D4 forms from the DVLA.

    The D2 form is used to submit a licence application. Your doctor or a qualified business that specialises in driver medical examinations must fill out the D4.

There are numerous questions that show how to obtain an HGV licence. A few procedures must be followed in order to apply for an HGV licence.

    Submit an application for a driving permit.

    Completing quality HGV Driver Training.

    Schedule one of the three types of theory tests available: case studies, Hazard perception theory tests, and theory tests.

    Schedule your practical driving test, also referred to as the driving ability test.

    Pass the test for the actual demonstration.

Certificate of Professional Competence

Certificate of Professional Competence is known as the CPC. If you operate a commercial vehicle that weighs more than 3.5 tonnes, you must have it. This states that you must possess a CPC credential in addition to an HGV licence. Also you can check out for HGV class 2 training. To acquire this certification, you must complete the following four steps:

1. Theory Test

2. Case study Test.

3. Driving Ability Test.

4. CPC Demonstration Test.

Read also: avple

Must Read
Related News